Structured Doctoral Programs at JGU

Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (JGU) offers numerous possibilities to obtain a doctoral degree within the framework of comprehensive structured programs supplementing the traditional individual doctorate.

Graduate schools and centers

Graduate schools and centers are university institutions which bring together under the same organizational roof different structures and offers to promote young researchers, i.e. individual research training groups or doctoral programs. As to their subjects, the schools and centers cover several fields of knowledge and thus offer their doctoral students an inspiring research environment. Moreover, they have comprehensive qualification and supervision concepts.

The following graduate schools and graduate centers are currently established at JGU:

DFG Research Training Groups (RTG)

The German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft - DFG) is one of the most important research funding organisations in Germany. It has made a significant contribution to establishing Research Training Groups (RTGs) as a permanent fixture in the German research and academic landscape and thus embedding doctoral projects in existing research and supervision structures.

Research Training Groups are officially coordinated groups of doctoral candidates whose dissertation projects fall within a given, preferably interdisciplinary, thematic framework. In addition, they offer an attractive supervision concept and a structured qualification program that also goes beyond scientific work. The Research Training Groups are supported by designated university faculty members.

RTGs are funded for a maximum of nine years. The individual funding period for doctoral candidates in a RTG is usually three years. As a result, places continuously become available. Applications are submitted directly to the RTGs themselves. Information about current vacancies can be obtained from the RTG. The department of Research and Technology transfer informs about current Research Training Groups at JGU.

International postgraduate research groups and programs

Cross-border postgraduate research groups and programs enable doctoral candidates at an early stage in their academic careers to get to know different research cultures and in particular contribute substantially to building international networks.

Postgraduate research training groups in the humanities and social sciences

The postgraduate research training groups in the humanities and social sciences (“mini-graduate schools”) funded internally by JGU aim at creating sustainable structures for the promotion of young researchers. For this purpose, existing structures have to be profiled effectively and promising approaches for the future have to be identified. Postgraduate research groups who work within a common field of research are supported. Currently, there are six mini-graduate schools at JGU within different fields of research.

Strukturierte Promotion an der JGU

Die traditionelle Individualpromotion ergänzend, bietet die Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz (JGU) zahlreiche Möglichkeiten im Rahmen einer umfassenden Struktur zu promovieren.

Graduiertenschulen und -zentren

Graduiertenschulen bzw. -zentren sind institutionalisierte universitäre Einrichtungen, die verschiedene Strukturen und Angebote zur Nachwuchsförderung, d. h. einzelne Graduiertenkollegs oder Promotionsprogramme, unter einem organisatorischen Dach zusammenfassen. Thematisch decken die Schulen bzw. Zentren mehrere Wissensgebiete ab und bieten den Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden somit ein anregendes Forschungsumfeld. Darüber hinaus weisen sie ein umfassendes Qualifizierungs- und Betreuungskonzept auf.

Gegenwärtig sind an der JGU folgende Graduiertenschulen bzw. Graduiertenzentren etabliert:

DFG-Graduiertenkollegs (GRK)

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) ist eine der wichtigsten Forschungsförderorganisationen Deutschlands. Sie hat wesentlich dazu beigetragen, Graduiertenkollegs (GRK) im deutschen Wissenschaftssystem als feste Größe zu etablieren und damit Promotionsprojekte in übergreifende Forschungs- und Betreuungsstrukturen einzubetten.

Graduiertenkollegs sind koordinierte Gruppen von Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden, deren Dissertationsprojekte sich in einem vorgegebenen, vorzugsweise interdisziplinären, thematischen Rahmen bewegen. Sie bieten darüber hinaus ein attraktives Betreuungskonzept sowie ein über die wissenschaftliche Arbeit hinausgehendes Qualifizierungsprogramm. Getragen werden die Graduiertenkollegs von mehreren Hochschullehrerinnen und Hochschullehrern.

DFG-Graduiertenkollegs werden maximal neun Jahre gefördert. Die individuelle Förderdauer für Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden in einem Graduiertenkolleg beträgt drei Jahre. Es werden folglich immer wieder Plätze frei. Bewerbungen werden direkt bei den Graduiertenkollegs eingereicht. Hier müssen Sie prüfen, ob es entsprechende Vakanzen gibt. Die Abteilung Forschung und Technologietransfer informiert über aktuelle DFG-geförderte Graduiertenkollegs an der JGU.

Internationale Promotionskollegs und -programme

Als internationale Promotionskollegs bzw. -programme werden grenzüberschreitende Kollegs und Programme bezeichnet, die durch ihre Ausrichtung den Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden schon früh in der wissenschaftlichen Karriere das Kennenlernen verschiedener Forschungskulturen ermöglichen und in gesondertem Maße zur Bildung internationaler Netzwerke beitragen.

Graduiertenkollegs in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften

Die universitätsintern geförderten Promotionskollegs in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften („Minigraduiertenkollegs“) haben zum Ziel, nachhaltige Strukturen im Bereich der Nachwuchsförderung zu schaffen. Dabei gilt es, vorhandene Strukturen wirksam zu profilieren und zukunftsträchtige Ansätze zu identifizieren. Gefördert werden Doktorandengruppen, die im Rahmen eines gemeinsamen Forschungsfeldes arbeiten. Aktuell existieren zehn Minigraduiertenkollegs an der JGU innerhalb verschiedener Forschungsbereiche.