JGU’s Promotion of Young Researchers and Artists

Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (JGU) considers sustainable support for young researchers and artists one of its core responsibilities.

JGU’s support and funding measures specifically take into account those status groups which are marked by having already achieved a high degree of autonomy in research and teaching: therefore, junior professors and junior research group leaders are part of JGU’s young researchers in addition to doctoral candidates, postdocs and habilitation candidates. When it comes to research and teaching, they are highly dedicated and contribute essentially to the reputation of the entire university.

Qualification, advice and funding

Young artists and researchers form a heterogeneous target group. JGU is willing to go the extra mile in order to provide manifold support programs and continuing education offers where they can gain the necessary qualifications according to their professional goals within or outside academia. Moreover, JGU seeks to provide young researchers with advice tailored to their needs.

Within the framework of JGU’s Internal University Research Funding (“Stufe 1”), young researchers at JGU can apply for funding for their first research projects and networking activities. Young researchers can also receive support in establishing their own junior research group. As regards arts and musical projects, a separate funding line is in place. Furthermore, JGU offers several additional possibilities to support young researchers such as funding for conference travels, publications or stays abroad. In addition to these support schemes, the Research and Technology Transfer Office offers to provide advice and support regarding third-party fundraising.

Graduate promotion

Many structured doctoral programs have been established at JGU. Not only do they offer doctoral candidates excellent research conditions, but also outstanding supervision and networking opportunities. Examples are the Graduate School of Excellence MAINZ (MAterials science in MainZ), TransMed (Mainz Research School of Translational Biomedicine) and the innovative mini-graduate schools in the humanities and social sciences as well as numerous DFG Research Training Groups.

Doctoral candidates at JGU who are not part of a structured program also have access to several qualifications, support and advice offers tailored to their needs. The events organized by the General Postgraduate Program (GPP) or by the Program for Young Female Academics (ProWeWin) are examples of training and qualification possibilities.

In addition, specific mentoring programs for young artists and researchers provide individual support. One special program is the Gutenberg Academy which brings up to 25 outstanding doctoral candidates and artists at JGU (Junior members) together and provides them with the possibility to participate in a regular intensive exchange with excellent researchers and artists at JGU (Senior members).

JGU runs a diverse range of international programs and cooperations with partners from foreign countries, for example the first International DFG Research Training Group in cooperation with South Korea or the Marie Sklodowska-Curie Innovative Training Networks (ITN) for which third-party funds have been successfully raised.

As regards JGU’s collaboration with top universities in the United States, the Graduate School of Excellence MAINZ is setting new quality standards. Its close cooperation with Princeton University and Stanford University have provided decisive impetus in this context.

Nachwuchsförderung an der JGU

Die Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz (JGU) betrachtet die nachhaltige Förderung des wissenschaftlichen und künstlerischen Nachwuchses als eine ihrer Kernaufgaben.

Ihr Angebot an Unterstützungs- und Fördermaßnahmen berücksichtigt dabei explizit auch jene Statusgruppen, die bereits einen hohen Anteil an Selbstständigkeit in Forschung und Lehre erlangt haben: Neben Promovierenden, Postdocs und Habilitierenden zählen folglich auch Juniorprofessorinnen und -professoren sowie extern geförderte Nachwuchsgruppenleiterinnen und -leiter zum Nachwuchs der JGU. Sie leisten mit hohem Engagement einen herausragenden Beitrag zu Forschung und Lehre in Mainz und tragen damit wesentlich zur Reputation der JGU bei.

Qualifizierung, Beratung und Finanzierung

Der künstlerische und wissenschaftliche Nachwuchs ist eine heterogene Zielgruppe. Die JGU hat den Anspruch, sie durch vielfältige Förder- und Weiterbildungsangebote bestmöglich für verschiedene Karriereziele innerhalb und außerhalb der Wissenschaft zu qualifizieren und bedarfsentsprechend zu beraten.

Im Rahmen der inneruniversitäre Forschungsförderung Stufe 1, können Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler der JGU Gelder für erste eigene Forschungsprojekte oder Netzwerkaktivitäten beantragen. Auch bei der Einrichtung einer eigenen Nachwuchsgruppe werden die young researchers unterstützt. Für Kunst- und Musikprojekte gibt es eine eigene Förderlinie. Darüber hinaus bietet die JGU verschiedene weitere Möglichkeiten an, um den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs optimal zu unterstützen, etwa durch die Förderung von Konferenzreisen, Publikationsvorhaben oder Auslandsaufenthalten. Diese Förderangebote ergänzend bietet die Stabsstelle für Forschung & Technologietransfer den Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern Beratung und Unterstützung bei der Einwerbung von Drittmitteln an.

Graduiertenförderung

Derzeit ist an der JGU eine Vielzahl an strukturierten Promotionsprogrammen etabliert, die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden nicht nur beste Forschungsbedingungen, sondern auch hervorragende Betreuung und Vernetzungsmöglichkeiten bieten. Exemplarisch zu nennen sind hier die Exzellenz-Graduiertenschule MAINZ (Materials Science in Mainz), die Graduiertenschule TransMed (Mainz Research School of Translational Biomedicine), die innovativen Minigraduiertenkollegs in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften sowie zahlreiche DFG-Graduiertenkollegs.

Promovierende ohne Einbindung in ein strukturiertes Format haben an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz ebenfalls Zugang zu verschiedenen, speziell auf sie zugeschnittenen Qualifizierungs-, Unterstützungs- und Beratungsangeboten. So bieten die unterschiedlichen Veranstaltungen des Allgemeinen Promotionskollegs (APK) oder des Programms Weiblicher Wissenschaftsnachwuchs (ProWeWin) universitätsweit Möglichkeiten der Weiterbildung und Qualifizierung.

Unterstützung und individuelle Förderung finden junge Künstlerinnen und Künstler, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler darüber hinaus in spezifischen Mentoring-Programmen. Ein besonderes Format bietet hier die Gutenberg-Akademie an, die bis zu 25 herausragenden Promovierenden sowie Künstlerinnen und Künstlern der JGU (Juniormitglieder) einen intensiven und regelmäßigen Austausch mit herausragenden Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern sowie Künstlerinnen und Künstlern (Seniormitglieder) ermöglicht.

Die JGU unterhält vielfältige international ausgerichtete Programme und Kooperationen mit ausländischen Partnern wie etwa die erfolgreich eingeworbenen Marie Sklodowska-Curie Innovative Training Networks (ITN).

Im Hinblick auf die Zusammenarbeit mit Spitzenuniversitäten in den USA setzt insbesondere die Graduiertenschule der Exzellenz MAINZ Qualitätsstandards. Ihre intensive Kooperation mit der Princeton University und der Stanford University liefert hier entscheidende Impulse.